"Smart Law and Intelligen​t Machines" Symposium

Due to coronavirus concerns and the travel complications with our out-of-state and international presenters, we have regretfully postponed this symposium to the next academic year. The health and safety of our guests, students and staff is our first priority. We will provide an update on this webpage and via email in August 2020. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact Prof. Peter Yu.

Smart Law Symposium flyerTexas A&M University School of Law and the Center for Law and Intellectual Property present

"Smart Law and Intelligent Machines" Symposium

Texas A&M School of Law
1515 Commerce Street
Fort Worth TX 76102

This symposium brings together leading experts to critically examine the interplay between law, machine and society. It covers a wide range of issues, including artificial intelligence, machine learning, autonomous vehicles, intellectual property, privacy protection and human rights.

If you would like to participate as a conference fellow, please contact Professor Peter Yu.

Texas A&M University School of Law IP Faculty

IP Faculty 7 2017

Confirmed Presenters

  • Prof. B.J. Ard, University of Wisconsin Law School
  • Dr. Enrico Bonadio, ​Reader in Law, The City Law School, City, University of London (U.K.)
  • Prof. Sandra Braman, Department of Communication, Texas A&M University
  • Prof. Hannah Bloch-Wehba, Thomas R. Kline School of Law, Drexel University​
  • Prof. Justin B. Bullock, The Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University
  • Prof. Adam Candeub, Michigan State University College of Law
  • Prof. Michael W. Carroll, American University Washington College of Law
  • Prof. Bryan H. Choi, Michael E. Moritz College of Law, Ohio State University
  • Cole Davis, Founder, Switchchord
  • Prof. Tabrez Y. Ebrahim, California Western School of Law
  • Prof. Jon M. Garon, Shepard Broad College of Law, Nova Southeastern University​
  • Prof. James Grimmelmann, Cornell Tech and Cornell Law School
  • Prof. Eldar Haber, Faculty of Law, Haifa University (Israel)
  • Prof. H. Brian Holland, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Prof. Daryl Lim, UIC John Marshall Law School
  • Prof. Doris E. Long, UIC John Marshall Law School
  • Prof. Milan Markovic, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Prof. Andrew C. Michaels, University of Houston Law Center
  • Prof. Maria Lillà Montagnani, School of Law, Bocconi University (Italy)
  • Prof. Nicole N. Morris, Emory University School of Law​
  • Prof. Robin Murphy, Humanitarian Robotics and AI Laboratory, Texas A&M University
  • Prof. W. Keith Robinson, Dedman School of Law, Southern Methodist University
  • Prof. Andrew Selbst, UCLA School of Law
  • Prof. Song Hongsong, Yantai University Law School (China)
  • Prof. Harry Surden, University of Colorado Law School
  • Prof. Hannibal Travis, Florida International University College of Law 
  • Niels ten Oever, Ph.D. Candidate, Departments of Media Studies and Political Science, University of Amsterdam (The Netherlands) 
  • Prof. Nancy A. Welsh, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Gregory D. Winfree, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University
  • Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

Conference Fellows

  • Prof. Dana Beldiman, Center for Transnational IP, Media and Technology Law and Policy, Bucerius Law School (Germany) 
  • Prof. Stefania Fusco, Notre Dame Law School
  • Prof. Jiang Fuxiao, Yantai University Law School (China)
  • Gretchen Stoeltje, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Amaka Vanni, African International Economic Law Network (Nigeria)
TAMU Center for Law & Intellectual Property