Penrose, Rambo, Mulvaney, & Murphy Honored as Teachers of the Year

January 6, 2014

The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) recognized professors Mary Margaret “Meg” Penrose, Lynne Rambo, Timothy Mulvaney, and John F. Murphy as Texas A&M School of Law Teachers of the Year. The faculty members were selected by student votes.

The Teachers of the Year were honored at a special reception at the AALS Annual Meeting, the largest gathering of law faculty in the world. In its role as the scholarly society for law teachers, AALS has worked to highlight the importance of excellence in teaching by honoring faculty who have been selected as outstanding teachers by their law schools.

Professor Meg PenroseProfessor Mary Margaret “Meg” Penrose, a member of the law school faculty since 2009 and a member of the American Law Institute, teaches Criminal Procedure, International Human Rights, Civil Procedure, and Constitutional Law. Professor Penrose continues to practice in federal court with an emphasis on federal habeas corpus representation of Texas Death Row inmates and Title VII and Title IX litigation challenging gender bias and discrimination in the workplace. Prior to teaching, Professor Penrose served as Senior Law Clerk and pro se Staff Attorney at the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas.

Professor Lynne RamboProfessor Lynne Rambo has been with the law school since 1997. Students have elected Professor Rambo Outstanding Upper Division Professor six times. She was voted Distinguished Professor of the Year by the Alumni Association in 2004 and received the Trustees Award for Distinguished Scholarship in 2002. In her teaching and scholarship, Professor Rambo has focused on constitutional law and evidence issues. Her courses taught include Constitutional Law, Criminal Law Practicum, Evidence, First Amendment, and Supreme Court Seminar.

Professor Timothy MulvaneyTimothy Mulvaney, associate professor of law, also joined the law school faculty in 2009, teaching Property, Advanced Topics in Property Theory, Land Use Law, Environmental Law, Natural Resources Law, and Constitutional Issues in Environmental Law. His scholarship explores the many conflicts at the intersection of property, land use, and environmental law, with a particular focus on constitutional takings jurisprudence. Before entering academia, Professor Mulvaney served as a Deputy Attorney General in the environmental and land use practice group of the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office.

Professor John MurphyAssociate Professor John Murphy, Legal Analysis, Research and Writing instructor, joined the full-time faculty in 2009 after teaching as an adjunct professor in the legal writing program for four years. Before joining the faculty, Professor Murphy engaged in private practice focused on civil trials and appeals for twelve years, including several years as a partner in Gardner, Aldrich & Murphy, L.L.P., and served as Justice Anne Gardner’s staff attorney at the Second Court of Appeals for four years.


About the Association of American Law Schools (AALS)

AALS logoTexas A&M University School of Law is a member of AALS, a non-profit educational association of 176 law schools representing over 10,000 law faculty in the United States. The AALS is legal education’s principal representative to the federal government and to other national higher education organizations and learned societies. The purpose of the Association is “the improvement of the legal profession through legal education.”