Order of Barristers, Professor of the Year Awards Presented at Barristers’ Ball

April 7, 2016

Order-of-Barristers-20162015-2016 Texas A&M University School of Law Order of Barristers inductees: (front row L-R) Jamillia Wren, Kristinia Anderson, Kirsten Thompson, Jeremy Black; (2nd row L-R) Mark Lister, Blake Buether; (top row L-R) Benjamin Nystrom, Jesse Calderon, Tyler Gregston, Matt Staton.

Ten students at Texas A&M University School of Law were inducted into the Order of Barristers at the 2015-2016 Texas A&M University School of Law Barristers’ Ball for their excellence in oral advocacy. Jennifer Ellis, Director of Advocacy Programs, presented the Order of Barristers certificates and medals.

The Order of Barristers is a national honor society that encourages oral advocacy and brief writing skills through effective law school oral advocacy programs. The Order also provides national recognition for students who excel in service and advocacy.

Inductees are chosen by the Oral Advocacy Committee, selected by the dean. The committee evaluates student performance and participation in both inter- and intra- scholastic advocacy competitions in mock trial, moot court and alternative dispute resolution (ADR), involvement in ​Advocacy Program and Board of Advocates administration and any other factors suggesting excellent performance in oral advocacy.

Chair of the Oral Advocacy Committee, Professor Lynne Rambo, said being inducted is the highest honor any student participating in oral advocacy and ADR can achieve.

Rambo said the committee selected the ten strongest. “This is an honor the selected students richly deserve.”

The following 3Ls have been selected for induction to the Order of Barristers:

Kristinia Anderson
Jeremy Black
Blake Buether
Jesse Calderon
Tyler Gregston
Mark Lister
Benjamin Nystrom
Matt Staton
Kirsten Thompson
Jamillia Wren

“I couldn’t be more happy for them,” ​Rambo said. “They have worked very hard, and represented the school very well.”

In addition to student recognition at the April 2 Barristers’ Ball, “Professor of the Year” honors for the 2015-2016 academic year, which are decided by student vote, were awarded. Professor Neal Newman, master of ceremonies for the evening, presented the awards.

Associate Professor John Murphy won Legal Analysis, Research, and Writing Professor of the Year. This is his fourth time to win the award.

Professor Timothy Mulvaney was selected as 1L Professor of the Year by the current first-year class for the fifth consecutive year.

Professor Meg Penrose was awarded Upper Level Professor of the Year for a third time.

Barristers-Ball-16-tableThe Barristers’ Ball is organized by the Texas A&M School of Law Student Bar Association (SBA). Danielle Bonanno, SBA President, said it was a great success and an “all around fun night.”

Photos from the evening can be found in the Barristers' Ball album on the law school's Facebook page.

Murphy-mulvaney-penrose(L-R): John Murphy, LARW Professor of the Year; Timothy Mulvaney, 1L Professor of the Year; Meg Penrose, Upper Level Professor of the Year

Congratulations to all!

Learn more about the Advocacy Program:

The Advocacy Program at Texas A&M School of Law is a key component of making Aggie law students practice-ready. Directed by Jennifer Ellis ('05), the Advocacy Program consists of three disciplines: appellate advocacy (moot court), trial advocacy (mock trial) and dispute resolution (mediation, negotiation and client counseling).

The Texas A&M Law Moot Court, Mock Trial and Alternative Dispute Resolution teams are nationally recognized. Since the law school’s inception, the program has received 3 international, 11 national, 21 regional and one state championship, 14 best advocate and 13 best brief awards.

- Article by Jennifer Nassar, Communications Specialist, Texas A&M University School of Law