Barnett Named President’s Meritorious Service Award Recipient

February 24, 2017

Deborah-BarnettDeborah Barnett

Texas A&M University School of Law Senior Administrative Coordinator of Events Deborah Barnett is one of 25 individual staff recipients of the Texas A&M University’s 2016-2017 President’s Meritorious Service Award (PMSA).

The PMSAs began in 1986 to recognize and reward staff for their commendable service. Currently, these awards are presented to recognize 25 outstanding individuals and two outstanding teams for their meritorious service to the university. Nominations are typically called for during the fall; an anonymous committee appointed by the President selects the recipients.

Barnett said she was “completely surprised” when she heard she was selected as the law school recipient.

“There is a huge Texas A&M family out there,” she said. “The idea that a few of us may be recognized is overwhelming; I feel greatly honored.”

She said she has an “amazing” job at the law school because it keeps her engaged with all aspects of the school.

“I have the opportunity to work with all areas of the law school,” she said. “I have the privilege to work with stakeholders on every level from my co-workers and students to the local, regional, state, national, and even international legal communities.”

Dean and Anthony G. Buzbee Dean’s Endowed Chair Andrew Morriss said he is proud of Barnett’s accomplishments.

“Deb Barnett personifies ‘excellence’,” Morriss said. “Our many programs wouldn’t be possible without her logistical skills and can-do spirit.”

As a recipient, Barnett will be awarded a $1,000 cash prize, commemorative plaque and a lapel pin at the 30th annual PMSA award ceremony on Feb. 27 in College Station. The awards are funded through the generosity of The Association of Former Students and the program is coordinated by Texas A&M Human Resources. The ceremony will kick-off Staff Appreciation Week.

Barnett said she’s very excited for the ceremony because her parents will attend, and she’ll get to meet “people who genuinely work for the betterment of the university and the core values.”

“I just hope I don’t trip,” she added.

Click here for the full list of recipients and to RSVP to attend the ceremony.