Alumni Admitted to U.S. Supreme Court Bar

June 1, 2017

SCOTUS Bar 2017Dori Boone-Costantino, J. Turner Thornton, Texas A&M Law Professor Meg Penrose, who served as Movant for the Bar admissions, Heather E. Ozuna, Rachel Ruth Hale and Lorein "Lori" Jedlicka Campbell

Five law school alumni, Dori Boone-Costantino, Texas Wesleyan School of Law (TWL) ’10, J. Turner Thornton TWL ’12, Heather E. Ozuna TWL ’11, Rachel Ruth Hale TWL ’11 and Lorein "Lori" Jedlicka Campbell TWL ’11 were sworn into the Bar of the United States Supreme Court on May 22, 2017, in Washington, D.C.

Following the reading of three SCOTUS decisions that morning, Texas A&M Law Professor Meg Penrose made a motion before Chief Justice John Roberts and six of the other Justices present, including newly-appointed Justice Neil Gorsuch.

While this is the first year Texas A&M Law has sponsored a group, plans are already underway to return in 2018. To become eligible for admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United States, you must obtain two sponsors that are current members of the bar who know you personally and are not related to you by blood or marriage; you must also be in good standing with the highest court of your state (i.e., Texas Supreme Court); and have been admitted to practice law in the highest court of your state for at least three years.

For more information, or if you are interested in joining us for the trip in 2018, please contact Kristi Kaiser Trail '00 Director of Alumni, Former Students and External Relations, or 817.212.3837.