Texas A&M Law Hosts AALS ADR Works-in-Progress Conference

October 28, 2015

Texas A&M University School of Law was honored to host the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) section's ninth annual Works-in-Progress Conference on October 23-24, 2015, in Fort Worth. Dispute resolution scholars from around the ​world presented papers on a diverse range of ​ADR topics. The conference is held every fall and has earned a reputation for collegiality and rigorous scholarship.  

Andrea Schneider from Marquette University, Jill Gross from Pace University, Ilhyung Lee from University of Missouri and Ron Aronovsky from Southwestern ​Law School were just a few of the leading ADR scholars who presented​ papers. Other top scholars ​featuring their work were from University of Maryland, University of Nebraska, Michigan State University, University of Nevada in Las Vegas, Harvard University, St. Johns University, Texas Tech University and Ono Academic College in Israel.  

Texas A&M Law professors Cynthia Alkon, chair-elect of the AALS ADR section, and Peter Reilly also presented papers and co-chaired the coordination of the entire program.
This year's conference was unique as Texas A&M provided a travel stipend to junior scholars to enable a larger number of junior faculty to attend. Participants this year complimented the addition of Texas hospitality thanks to the hard work of Events Coordinator Deb Barnett.

Dean and Anthony G. Buzbee Dean’s Endowed Chair Andrew Morriss gave welcoming remarks.

"This is exactly the type of event that fits within Texas A&M University's mission as a land-grant research institution to support quality scholarship," Morriss said.

ADR WIP attendeesThis year’s Works-in-Progress conference attendees included (back row, left-to-right) Peter Reilly, Omer Shapira, Erin Archerd, Cynthia Alkon, Andrea Schneider, Elayne Greenberg, Michael Green, Rishi Batra, Ron Aronovsky, Carol Pauli, and (front row, left-to-right) Brian Pappas, Sheila Purcell, Deborah Eisenberg, Lydia Nussbaum, Heather Kulp, Kristen Blankley, Jill Gross and Lauren Newell.