Access book launch

"Intellectual Property Law and Access to Medicines: TRIPS Agreement, Health, and Pharmaceuticals" Book Launch

Via Zoom
November ​23, 2021, 13:00 GMT
7:00 A.M. U.S. Central Standard Time (Dallas/Fort Worth)
8am EST (Washington DC), 10am BRT (Rio de Janeiro), 2pm CET (Geneva), 3pm SAST (Cape Town), 6:30pm IST (New Delhi), 9pm HKT (Hong Kong)

This virtual book launch brings together scholars, activists, policymakers, and industry actors to examine a wide variety of cross-cutting legal issues on intellectual property, pharmaceutical and trade law as explored in Intellectual Property Law and Access to Medicines: TRIPS Agreement, Health, and Pharmaceuticals (Routledge, 2021), edited by Srividhya Ragavan (Texas A&M) and Amaka Vanni (Leeds). The event is jointly organized by the Centre for Business Law and Practice at the School of Law, University of Leeds, UK, and the Center for Law and Intellectual Property at Texas A&M University School of Law, USA, and co-sponsored by the Chinese University of Hong Kong's Centre for Comparative and Transnational Law.

Click here to register

Schedule [pdf]

Co-​Editors: Welcome:
  • Robert B. Ahdieh, Dean and Anthony G. Buzbee Chair, Texas A&M University School of Law
Keynote Address:
  • Antony Taubman, Director, Intellectual Property, Government Procurement & Competition Division, World Trade Organization
Panel Topics:
  • Changes in International Norm Setting Post-COVID
  • G20, State Action and Global Public Health
  • WTO in Post COVID Era
Panel Chairs:
  • Srividhya Ragavan, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Peter Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Graham Dutfield, University of Leeds, UK
  • Amaka Vanni, University of Leeds, UK
  • Doris Long, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Brook Baker, Northeastern University
Panelists:
  • Bryan Mercurio, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Antony Taubman, World Trade Organization
  • Carlos Correa, South Centre, Geneva
  • Caroline Ncube, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Jorge Bermudez, National School of Public Health (Fiocruz), Brazil
  • Mike Palmedo, American University Washington ​College of Law
  • Sergio Napolitano, General Counsel and External Relations Director, Medicines for Europe, Netherlands​
  • Susan Isiko Štrba, International Lawyers and Economists for Development (IlED)
  • Peter Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Burcu Kilic, Research Director, ​Public Citizen, Washington D.C.
  • Janewa Osei-Tutu, Florida International University
  • Marcela Fogaça Vieira, The Graduate Institute, Geneva