Prof. Murphy Receives Distinguished Achievement Award

April 5, 2019

John MurphyProf. John Murphy, 2019 Texas A&M University Distinguished Achievement Award recipient

Texas A&M University School of Law Instructional Associate Professor John Murphy has been selected to receive a Texas A&M University Distinguished Achievement Award in the category of teaching. 

Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young says that this award is “among the most prestigious awards that can be presented to faculty or staff at Texas A&M University. The selection is rigorous, and the recipients are chosen by a campus-wide committee composed of faculty, students, former students, and staff.” The award is funded by the Association of Former Students.

Twenty-four outstanding members of the university’s faculty and staff will be honored at the awards ceremony later this month in College Station, and each recipient will receive a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to more than 1,000 professionals who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

Big Event 2018 John MurphyProf. John Murphy and students ​sprucing up Morningside Elementary in Fort Worth with collegiate colors during the 2018 ​Law ​School Big Event

It's not only the leadership at College Station that has recognized Professor Murphy's outstanding skill in the classroom -- he has been elected five times as "Legal Analysis, Research and Writing Program Professor of the Year" by students at the law school. His research focuses on legal pedagogy, logic, and legal writing, utilizing his expertise in Texas appellate practice and teaching lawyering skills. He joins law school professors Meg Penrose (2017 for teaching) and Megan Carpenter (2016 for graduate mentoring) as recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award.