Conference Analyzes Judicial Behavior

May 17, 2018

Judicial Behavior ConferenceThe Texas A&M University School of Law Program in Law and Social Science hosted a National Science Foundation funded conference on “Facilitating Empirical Studies of Judicial Behavior on Constitutional Courts from a Comparative Perspective” on May 11-12, 2018, in Fort Worth.

The conference ​brought together an interdisciplinary group of international scholars who study high courts around the world from a comparative perspective. The goal of the conference ​is to develop a path forward for larger-scale empirical research on national high courts.

The participants ​assembled a collection of existing data and resources, discussed strategies for extending data availability and comparability across national systems, and encouraged collaborations among researchers.

NSF Judicial Behavior conferenceClifford J. Carrubba, Political Science Department Chair, Professor of Political Science & Law by courtesy, Director of The Institute for Quantitative Theory and Methods, Emory University, discusses empirical methods in examining judicial behavior. L-R: Rebecca D. Gill, University of Nevada Las Vegas; Joshua Fischman, University of Virginia School of Law; Melinda Gann Hall, Michigan State University; Carrubba; Kristen Renburg, Duke University; Professor Christopher Hanretty, Royal Holloway, University of London (UK); Amanda Driscoll, Florida State University

The conference was funded by the National Science Foundation (Grant SES 1744299).  Learn more about the NSF grant.

The conference was hosted by Texas A&M University School of Law in Fort Worth​ and ​was organized by:

  • Nuno GaroupaProf. Nuno Garoupa, co-convener of the Program in Law and Social Science at Texas A&M and conference co-organizer
    Nuno Garoupa, professor of law at Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Lydia Tiede, associate professor of political science at the University of Houston
  • Rebecca Gill, Director-designate of the Women's Research Institute of Nevada and associate professor of political science at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas
C​onference participants, listed below, included ​45 esteemed political scientists, economists, sociologists and legal scholars from around the world and 11 doctoral students from ​across the country.

Amanda Driscoll Dominique Lewis Nuno Garoupa
Arthur Dyevre (Belgium)  Jeffrey Staton Pedro Magalhães (Portugal)
Aylin Aydin-Çakir (Turkey) Joshua Fischman Rebecca Gill
Bethany Blackstone Julio Ríos Figueroa Rebecca Reid
Carolina Arlota Lee Walker Rhonda Evans
Chien-Chih Lin (Taiwan) Lewis Kornhauser Russel Smyth (Australia)
Christopher Hanretty (UK) Loren Jacobson
Sunita Parikh
Christopher Zorn Lori Hausegger (Canada)  Tanya Bagashka
Clifford Carrubba Lydia Tiede Tao Dumas
Daniel Brinks Maryam Stevenson Tom Ginsburg
Diana Kapiszewski Melinda Gann Hall Mark Hurwitz