

"Intellectual Property and Global Development: 50 Years After Stockholm" Symposium

FINAL PROGRAM

FRIDAY, MARCH 31, 2017

8:30 a.m. Breakfast

9:00 a.m. Welcoming Remarks

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Co-Director, Center for Law and Intellectual Property, Texas A&M

University School of Law

9:15 a.m. Marks

Moderator: Prof. Connie D. Nichols, Baylor Law School

Speakers: Prof. Irene Calboli, Texas A&M University School of Law

Prof. Marshall Leaffer, Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Prof. Glynn S. Lunney, Jr., Texas A&M University School of Law

Prof. J. Janewa OseiTutu, Florida International University College of Law

10:45 a.m. Coffee Break

11:00 a.m. Creations

Moderator: Prof. H. Brian Holland, Texas A&M University School of Law

Speakers: Prof. Olufunmilayo B. Arewa, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Prof. Doris Estelle Long, John Marshall Law School

Prof. Ruth Okediji, University of Minnesota Law School

Prof. Tana Pistorius, School of Law, University of South Africa (South Africa)

Prof. Martin Senftleben, Faculty of Law, VU University Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

1:00 p.m. Lunch

2:00 p.m. Inventions

Moderator: Prof. H. Dennis Kelly, Texas A&M University School of Law

Speakers: Prof. Graham Dutfield, School of Law, University of Leeds (U.K.)

Prof. Shubha Ghosh, Syracuse University College of Law

Prof. Sapna Kumar, University of Houston Law Center

Prof. Joshua Sarnoff, DePaul University College of Law

Prof. Geertrui Van Overwalle, Faculty of Law, University of Leuven (Belgium)

3:45 p.m. Coffee Break

4:00 p.m. Trade

Moderator: Prof. W. Keith Robinson, Dedman School of Law, Southern Methodist University

Speakers: Prof. Sean Flynn, American University Washington College of Law

Prof. Susy Frankel, School of Law, Victoria University of Wellington (New Zealand)

Prof. Amy J. Glass, Department of Economics, Texas A&M University

Prof. Sarah R. Wasserman Rajec, William & Mary Law School

Prof. Kimberlee Weatherall, Sydney Law School (Australia)

5:45 Symposium Adjourns for the Day

6:30 Dinner for Conference Speakers and Fellows

H3 Ranch

105 E. Exchange Ave., Fort Worth

SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2017

9:00 a.m. Breakfast

9:30 a.m. Biodiversity

Moderator: Tabrez Y. Ebrahim, Esq., Bracewell LLP

Speakers: Prof. Sam Halabi, University of Missouri School of Law

Prof. Chidi Oguamanam, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa (Canada)

Prof. Jerome H. Reichman, Duke University School of Law

Prof. Natalie Stoianoff, Faculty of Law, University of Technology Sydney (Australia)

Prof. Katja Weckström, University of Eastern Finland Law School (Finland)

11:15 a.m. Coffee Break

11:30 a.m. Health

Moderator: Dr. Dhanay M. Cadillo Chandler, Senior Research Fellow, Faculty of Law, University of

Turku (Finland)

Speakers: Prof. Frederick M. Abbott, Florida State University College of Law

Prof. Srividhya Ragavan, Texas A&M University School of Law

Dr. Henning Grosse Ruse-Khan, Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge (U.K.)

Dr. Xavier Seuba, Centre for International Intellectual Property Studies, University of

Strasbourg (France)

1:00 p.m. Lunch

2:15 p.m. Development

Moderator: Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

Speakers: Prof. Margaret Chon, Seattle University School of Law

Prof. Allan Rocha de Souza, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro and Federal Rural

University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)

Prof. Susan Sell, School of Regulation and Global Governance, Australian National

University (Australia)

Prof. Dalindyebo Shabalala, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Prof. Uma Suthersanen, School of Law, Queen Mary, University of London (U.K.)

4:00 p.m. Closing Remarks

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

5:30 p.m. Museum Tour for Conference Speakers and Fellows

Sid Richardson Museum 309 Main Street, Fort Worth

6:30 p.m. Dinner for Conference Speakers and Fellows

Petroleum Club of Fort Worth 777 Main St #4000, Fort Worth