Public Interest Law Fellowship

Selfless Service
It's who we are. It's what we do.

Meet the President

Heather Dyer2019-20 President of the Texas A&M Public Interest Law Fellowship

Serving as the President of the Texas A&M Public Interest Law Fellowship for the 2019-2020 class is both an honor and a privilege, as the Law Fellowship’s mission is one that is very close to my heart. The Law Fellowship strives to serve under-represented communities by awarding fellowships to students who are dedicated to public interest work and have a passion for providing critical legal services to our communities. These students dedicate their time and expertise during the summer to serve communities spanning all across Texas and even reaching into other parts of the United States.

This past summer, our Fellows spent over 5,200 hours providing public interest legal work across the great state of Texas. In addition, the Law Fellowship hosts numerous events throughout the semester to raise awareness of the importance of providing public interest legal services to our communities.

The Texas A&M Public Interest Law Fellowship is unique in that it truly encompasses all of the Aggie Core Values –– Excellence, Integrity, Leadership, Loyalty, Respect, and Selfless Service. The dedication of our Fellows to excellent quality, high moral character, acting as leaders in the community, commitment to the public, respect for all, and service to the community is unmatched. It is truly humbling to lead an organization with such devotion to these values.

None of this would be accomplished without the generous support of our donors and sponsors. Each year, I am floored by the generous support that members of the community provide to ensure that this important service continues to be provided to our community. As a student-run organization the Law Fellowship would not be able to accomplish our goals without your support, whether it be sponsorships, donations, volunteer hours, or attendance at our annual Gala and Auction.

On behalf of all of the Fellows, past and present, thank you!

Heather Dyer, MPAff 
J.D. Candidate, 2020
President, Texas A&M Public Interest Law Fellowship
Texas A&M University School of Law