Prospective Students > Admissions > Transfer and Visiting Student Requirements

Transfer and Visiting Student Requirements

Transfer Students
Students who have satisfactorily completed at least one year of law studies at an ABA-accredited law school may apply for admission as advanced students. An applicant may transfer no more than 30 semester hours of credit. No credit will be given for any course in which the grade earned was less than a “C+” or any course that was graded pass/fail or its equivalent. Transfer credits will not be considered in computing the student’s grade point average or class rank.

Property, Torts, Contracts, Civil Procedure, or any other four-hour Texas A&M required course may be a two-semester course at another law school. If the student has successfully completed the first of a two-course series, credit will be given for the transfer hours but not for the course. Students must take the four-hour course offered at Texas A&M School of Law.

Transfer students must submit the following to the Office of Admissions:
  • a complete and signed electronic application form
  • a $55 non-refundable application fee
  • a personal statement explaining the reason for transfer
  • a resume
  • an official copy of the CAS/LSAT report (Office of Admissions will request from LSAC. Report must include LSAT score, transcripts, and 2 letters of recommendation to be released.)
The following items should be sent directly from the student’s current law school to the Office of Admissions:
  • a letter of good standing from the appropriate dean or registrar of the applicant’s current law school
  • an official transcript from the applicant’s current law school
  • one letter of recommendation from a law professor
Students will be required to submit course syllabi for each course on the transcript at the time they are admitted. The Associate Dean for Academic Affairs will determine to what extent courses taken at another law school meet the graduation requirements of Texas A&M University School of Law and whether, or how many, credits will be transferred.


Visiting Students
Law students currently enrolled in ABA-accredited law schools who wish to take courses at Texas A&M University School of Law must submit the following to the Office of Admissions:
  • a completed and signed electronic application form
  • a $55 non-refundable application fee
  • a personal statement explaining the applicant's desire to visit
  • a resume
  • an official copy of the CAS/LSAT report (Office of Admissions will request from LSAC. Report must include LSAT score, transcripts, and 2 letters of recommendation to be released.)
The following items should be sent directly from the student’s current law school to the Office of Admissions:
  • a letter of good standing from the appropriate dean or registrar of the applicant’s current law school with permission to visit
  • an official transcript from the applicant’s current law
  • one letter of recommendation from a law professor