Prospective Students > About Texas A&M University School of Law

Law and Life at Texas A&M University School of Law

Texas A&M Law School exterior with Water Gardens

Not only do students at Texas A&M University School of Law receive a quality legal education, but they are also given a variety of outlets to build a strong sense of community among the student body. With more than 30 diverse student organizations, you can find a group with which you can network within your area of interest. You can even make a difference in the community through several pro bono programs.

Law School History

1989: The Dallas/Fort Worth School of Law begins in August as a night law school in Irving. The school's first class has 93 students.

1991: The school opens its day school division and relocates to the former campus site of Recognition Equipment, Inc.

1992: Texas Wesleyan University acquires the law school in an effort spearheaded by Bob Harmon, JD '96; Texas Wesleyan trustees Loren Hanson,  Rice Tilley and Walter Fortney; and former Texas Wesleyan President Jake Schrum.

1993: The first class of the Texas Wesleyan University School of Law graduates. Waivers are granted by the Texas Supreme Court on a vote of 9-0 so that Texas Wesleyan law graduates could take the Texas State Bar exam, even though  the school had not yet been accredited by the American Bar Association.

1994: The School of Law receives provisional accreditation by the American Bar Association in August.

1997: The school moves to its downtown Fort Worth location at 1515 Commerce St.

1999: The ABA grants full accreditation to the School of Law

2004: Then-Dean Frederick G. Slabach, who currently serves as Texas Wesleyan University President,  kicks off a $6.5 million renovation project in March that transforms the building's second floor and Dee J. Kelly Law Library.

2005: The renovation project is completed in October.

October 2011: Texas A&M  University contacts Texas Wesleyan University about a strategic partnership between the two schools centering on the School of Law.

January 2012: The Association of American Law Schools approves the membership of the Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, along with three other schools, at its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

June 2012: Texas A&M University and Texas Wesleyan University sign a Letter of Intent to establish a long-term relationship between the two schools, centered on the Texas Wesleyan University School of Law.

August 12, 2013: Texas A&M University acquires Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, becoming the Texas A&M University School of Law. Complementing its extensive degree offerings with a law school has been a longstanding goal of Texas A&M University. In choosing to acquire Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, Texas A&M valued the achievements of the law school faculty, the strength of the academic program, and the success and professionalism of the school’s graduates.

History - Texas A&M University

Texas A&M is the state's first public institution of higher education. With a current student body of more than 50,000 and a physical campus of more than 5,200 acres, Texas A&M is also among the nation's largest universities. Its origins, however, were much humbler. Texas A&M owes its origin to the Morrill Act, approved by the United States Congress on July 2, 1862. This act provided for donation of public land to the states for the purpose of funding higher education, whose "leading object shall be, without excluding other scientific and classical studies, and including military tactics, to teach such branches of learning as are related to agriculture and mechanic arts."

Texas A&M underwent many changes in the 1960s under the presidency of Gen. James Earl Rudder. Under his tenure the college diversified and began admitting women and minorities. Participation in the Corps of Cadets was also made voluntary. In 1963 the Texas state legislature officially renamed the school to Texas A&M University, with the "A" and "M" being a symbolic link to the school's past but no longer officially standing for "Agricultural and Mechanical".

Since that time Texas A&M has flourished and has become one of the nation's premier research universities. Along with the University of Texas and Rice, it is one of only three Tier 1 universities in the state. In 1971 and 1989 respectively, Texas A&M was designated as a Sea Grant and a Space Grant institution, making it among the first four universities to hold the triple distinction of Land Grant, Sea Grant, and Space Grant designations.