Dee J. Kelly Law Library > About the Law Library > History


When the law school was founded in 1989, it was known as the Dallas/Fort Worth School of Law. The law school was located on the University of Dallas campus in Irving, Texas, in the "Mother House of the School Sisters of Notre Dame." The entire library was housed in the dining room and chapel of the "Mother House." The Westlaw and Lexis room was in the Sanctorum area of the chapel.

In the summer of 1991, the school moved to a new building on Grauwyler Road in Irving. The library was located in the southwest corner of the building on the top floor. Space was limited with only 12,500 linear feet of shelving. At that time, the library staff consisted of two professional librarians and two staff members. In 1992, the law school was purchased by Texas Wesleyan University and renamed Texas Wesleyan University School of Law.

The law school moved to its current location in Fort Worth during the summer of 1997. The library shared the lower level of the new building with the student lounge and several classrooms. With this move, the library space grew to 16,000 linear feet of shelving.

In early 2005, the law school began a major renovation project. The law library was to take over the entire lower level of the law school. By the end of construction the law library had grown to over 40,000 linear feet of shelving and offered nine study rooms, a computer lab, a computer classroom, a quiet room, and an impressive reading room.  In October, the Dee J. Kelly Law Library was named in honor of Dee J. Kelly, Fort Worth attorney and chair of the Dean's Advisory Council, through generous gifts made by The Burnett Foundation and the Sid W. Richardson Foundation.

In August 2013, the law school was purchased by Texas A&M University and renamed Texas A&M University School of Law. Though the law school remains in its current location in Fort Worth, it is considered one of the colleges of Texas A&M University in College Station.